Venlafaxine (effexor) withdrawal effects

Forum Locked  Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

KiwiCola
Starting Member

26 Posts
Gratitude: 3

Posted - 10/24/2007 :  02:09:57  Show Profile
Hi there I'm new to this forum. I've been on venlafaxine (225mg) for a year and have been coming off it for about a month. I finally got down to zero effexor (I still take lithium, which I have been taking for 2 years). I now have what I believe to be withdrawal effects- dizziness, blocked ears, tinnitis. I told my psychiatrist- but was told that it was most probably flu. Ive been looking on the net and annoyed to see that it is that drug effexor! Does anyone know how long these withdrawal effects last? By the way I am a mental health nurse, and I suffered with PND with my son who is now 6 and my daughter who is now 2 (5 years of drugs in total). Some Drs think I have bipolar disorder- I only had one high episode and I think that was due to other antidepressants (aropax and prozac) that I trialled before coming to be on lithium- venlafaxine was addded later when my depression was still evident with my daughter.
Go to Top of Page

aquamarine
Amazing Member (1000+ posts)

1238 Posts
Gratitude: 325
Very caringVery wise

Posted - 10/24/2007 :  10:59:37  Show Profile
KiwiCola,
Welcome. Sorry to hear about your difficulties with Effexor. There is some info on this site about people's experience withdrawing from that med at: http://www.mytherapy.com/discussion/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=307.
...aqua
Go to Top of Page

stubborn
Starting Member

23 Posts
Gratitude: 7

Posted - 02/19/2008 :  07:05:23  Show Profile